Top 10 characteristics

  • Top 10 characteristics

Corian® & Krion® are hygienic

DuPont™ Corian® & Krion® are non- porous materials. They are solid through their entire thickness and can be fabricated with inconspicuous seams, rendering its surface very hygienic. DuPont™ Corian® & Krion® surfaces do not support the growth of bacteria or fungi. Corian® & Krion® have been certified by an independent laboratory as a hygienic material according to the international norm DIN EN ISO 846.

Krion® takes hygienic to a whole other level with their new Krion® K-Life!
The aspect "K-Life" of Krion refers to a specific innovation in the material. Krion K-Life is designed to be more environmentally friendly and self-cleaning compared to traditional solid surface materials. It incorporates a photocatalytic technology that can break down organic contaminants, bacteria, and other pollutants when exposed to natural or artificial light. This feature makes Krion K-Life suitable for applications where hygiene and air quality are important, such as in healthcare facilities, kitchens, and bathrooms.

Corian® & Krion® have inconspicious joints

Mobitim Corian Design Naadloos

The applications for Krion® & Corian® are limited only by the imagination. Pieces of Corian® & Krion® can be glued together inconspicuously to create a seamless look, giving virtually unlimited design possibilities for surfaces. Long counters, for example, can be made easily in lightweight pieces in our workshop and then joined together at the installation site. Edges can be built up to appear thicker.

Corian® & Krion® are non-toxic

Corian is non-toxic

DuPont™ Corian® & Krion® are inert and non-toxic materials. Under normal temperature conditions, they do not emit gases. When burned, they release mainly Carbon Oxides and the smoke generated is optically light and does not contain toxic halogenated gases. Because of these properties, Corian® & Krion® are used in public areas and for sensitive applications such as airport check-in counters, walls and work surfaces in hospitals and hotels.

Corian® & Krion® are translucent

Mobitim Corian Design Verlichting

The translucency of DuPont™ Corian® & Krion® is especially striking in the lighter colours as well as with thinner sheets. Many designers are now using the material to create lamps or lighting effects in various applications. The tracslucent colour family consists of more than 11 colours in 6 mm and 12 mm sheets featuring enhanced translucency to be used for creating special lighting effects.

Corian® & Krion® are repairable

Corian is repairable

Surfaces in DuPont™ Corian® & Krion® are renewable, meaning they can be fully restored with ordinary mild abrasive cleansers and a scouring pad. Cigarette burns, for example, can be easily removed in this way. Damage caused by abuse can usually be repaired on site without having to completely replace the material.

Corian® & Krion® are colourful

Corian is colorful

The refined colours of Corian® & Krion® allow for a creative and inspired working palette of solid, textured and translucent hues. You can choose a single colour; a neutral basis for design; or experiment with eye-catching harmonies. Corian® & Krion® can also be used as inlays, accents, or as a versatile complement to other materials such as metal, wood, stone, glass, etc. Corian® & Krion® can also be sublimation printed with any digital image.

Corian® & Krion® are solid

Corian is massive

Colours and textures run through the entire thickness of the material and cannot wear away. DuPont™ Corian® & Krion® are solid materials and cannot delaminate.

Corian® & Krion® are durable

Due to teir non-porous character and scratch-friendly surface, Corian® & Krion® are the perfect choice for those who want to enjoy their long-term purchase.

Corian® & Krion® are thermoformable

Mobitim Corian Design Thermisch

DuPont™ Corian® & Krion® can both be thermoformed in wooden or metal moulds at controlled temperatures in order to create various 2D and 3D design objects. Embossing effects can also be created using the Bas Relief technique.

Corian® & Krion® are resistant

DuPont™ Corian® & Krion® are solid, non-porous, homogeneous surfacing materials composed of ± 1/3 acrylic resin (also known as PolyMethyl MethAcrylate or PMMA) and ± 2/3 natural minerals. The main mineral is Aluminum TriHydrate(ATH) derived from bauxite, an ore from which aluminum is produced. Krion® & Corian® have proved itself to be remarkably durable materials that are easy to live with. They can not delaminate and they stand up well to daily use. They resist most of the impacts, nicks and cuts that occur in heavy traffic areas. Corian® & Krion® have been tested for their mechanical, thermal, electrical and other surface properties. Please consult online at and at on the Specification datasheet for the results of these specific tests as well as details of the other physical properties of Corian® & Krion®.

Top 10 characteristics

  • Top 10 characteristics

Corian® & Krion® sont hygiéniques

DuPont™ Corian® & Krion® sont non poreux. Ils sontrésistant dans toute son épaisseur et peut être fabriqué avec des joints invisibles, rendant sa surface très saine. Les surfaces en DuPont™ Corian® & Krion® ne permettent pas le développement des bactéries et des moisissures. Corian® & Krion® ont été certifié par un laboratoire indépendant comme un matériau hygiénique selon la norme internationale DIN EN ISO 846.

Krion® anticipe d'ailleur encore avec leur nouveau Krion® K-Life!
L'élément "K-Life" de Krion fait référence à une innovation spécifique dans le matériau. Krion K-Life est conçu pour être plus respectueux de l'environnement et autonettoyant par rapport aux matériaux de surface solide traditionnels. Il intègre une technologie photocatalytique qui peut contribuer à purifier l'air en décomposant les polluants organiques, les bactéries et autres contaminants lorsqu'il est exposé à la lumière naturelle ou artificielle. Cette caractéristique fait de Krion K-Life un choix adapté pour les applications où la propreté et la qualité de l'air sont importantes, telles que les établissements de soins de santé, les cuisines et les salles de bains.

Corian® & Krion® ont des joints invisibles

Mobitim Corian Design Naadloos

Les applications de DuPont™ Corian® & Krion® ont pour seule limite l’imagination des créateurs. Les pièces en Corian® & Krion® peuvent être assemblées par collage, pour créer un aspect sans joints apparents, offrant ainsi des possibilités de création illimitées... Les longs comptoirs par exemple peuvent se fabriquer en pièces détachées dans notre atelier qui seront assemblées sur site. Les bordures et chants peuvent être renforcés pour apparaître plus épais.

Corian® & Krion® sont non toxiques

Corian is non-toxic

DuPont™ Corian® & Krion® sont des matériaux inerte et non toxiques. Dans des conditions de température normale, il n’émet pas de gaz. Lorsqu’ils sont brûlés, ils dégages principalement des oxydes de carbone et la fumée générée est optiquement légère et ne contient pas de gaz halogénés toxiques. Grâce à ses propriétés, Corian® & Krion® sont utilisés dans les espaces publics et dans des applications sensibles comme les comptoirs d’enregistrement d’aéroports ou les murs et les surfaces de travail dans les hôpitaux et les hôtels.

Corian® & Krion® sont translucides

Mobitim Corian Design Verlichting

La translucidité de DuPont™ Corian® & Krion® est sublimée dans les coloris les plus clairs et les épaisseurs les plus fines. De nombreux designers utilisent ce matériau pour créer des luminaires ou des effets de lumière dans des applications variées. La famille “Illumination séries” constituée de 5 coloris en 6 mm et 12 mm d’épaisseur, favorise la translucidité pour des effets lumière spectaculaires.

Corian® & Krion® sont réparable

Corian is repairable

Les surfaces en DuPont™ Corian® & Krion® se rénovent : elles retrouvent facilement l’état du neuf avec des nettoyants abrasifs et un tampon à récurer. Les brûlures de cigarette, par exemple, peuvent disparaître ainsi. Les dommages accidentels peuvent être réparés sur site sans nécessité de remplacer la totalité du matériau utilisé.

Corian® & Krion® sont riches en couleurs

Corian is colorful

La palette de couleurs raffinées de Corian® & Krion® intègre des nuances texturées, unies et translucides. On peut choisir une seule couleur, neutre, ou bien des coloris plus voyants. Corian® & Krion® peut aussi être utilisé pour des incrustations, des mosaïques ou en association avec d’autres matériaux comme le métal, le bois, la pierre, le verre, etc. La surface de Corian® & Krion® peut aussi être imprimé de n’importe quelle image numérique par procédé de sublimation.

Corian® & Krion® sont massif

Corian is massive

Les couleurs et les textures sont intégrées dans l’épaisseur du matériau et ne peuvent pas s’effacer. DuPont™ Corian® & Krion® sont des matériaux massifs qui ne peut se délaminer.

Corian® & Krion® sont durables

Corian® & Krion® sont réputé pour ses fiabilités, aussi bien au point de vue techniques que esthétiques.
Les produits sont de nature invitant à créer des objets et des espaces authentiques et originaux, et se prête aussi à réaliser vos créations innovants. Sa composition avancée est un atout pour résister aux usures normales dans les instances publique, et peut être rénové pour retrouver son éclat original.

Corian® & Krion® sont thermoformable

Mobitim Corian Design Thermisch

DuPont™ Corian® Krion® peut être thermoformés dans des moules en bois ou en métal à des températures contrôlées, pour créer des pièces en 2D ou en 3D. Des effets relief peuvent être aussi créés en utilisant la technique Bas-Relief.

Corian® & Krion® sont resistant

DuPont™ Corian® & Krion® sont des matériaux massif, homogène et non poreux, composé de 1/3 de résine acrylique (PftftA ou PolyftethylftethAcrylate) et de 2/3 de minéraux naturels. Le principal composant minéral est le TriHydrate d’Aluminium (ATH) dérivé de la bauxite, un minerai dont on extrait l’aluminium. Corian® & Krion® sont révélé d'être des matériaux remarquablement durables, facile à vivre. Ils ne se délamines pas et convient à une utilisation journalières. Ils résistes à la plupart des chocs, des entailles et des coupures qui arrivent dans les lieux de trafic intense. Corian® & Krion® ont été testés pour ses propriétés mécaniques, thermiques, électriques, et autres... Fiches techniques sur les résultats de ces tests et sur les propriétés physiques de Corian® sur et .